Previous Tech Nite Nominees & Winners

Below is a listing of past Tech Nite Nominees from 2016 to 2021. The winners are indicated in orange.

To view all years (2001-2021) see the pdf version: SVTC past Tech Nite winners and nominees 2001-2021 (pdf).

Award Category2021202020192018
Emerging Business AwardCaf2Code

ÖI Dominion Beer and Exploration Club

Traipse Inc. | My Local Token

Sproutly, LLC

Traipse, Inc.

Checked In, LLC

IT Decisions

Ryzing Technologies

Tributum Tax, LLC



E-N Computers

Raincrow Studios, LLC

Vohtr, Inc.

Innovation in Utilization AwardValley Guard Supply

Virginia Eagle Distributing

E-N Computers, Inc.

Interchange Group, Inc.


Cub Run Dairy, LC

Matchbox Realty & Management Services, Inc.

Bank Design and Equipment

Canvex LLC

Dr. John Noftsinger
Leadership Award
Joanie Eiland

Pam Carter

Phyllis Friesen, Design Concrete Builders Inc.

Tom Lundquist, Staunton City Schools

Anne Marchant, Shenandoah University

Angela Deitz, Augusta County Public Schools

Karrin Lukacs, Shenandoah University

Ian MacRae, E-N Computers

Toni Sheets, Harrisonburg City Public Schools

Nick Swayne; JMU X-Labs, 4-Virginia

Richie Crim / Lord Fairfax Community College

Ron Perry / grep Innovation

Danielle Ross / Netsmart Technologies/Valley Community Services Board

Innovation in
Education K-12 Award
Harrisonburg City Public Schools

Shenandoah County Public Schools

Staunton City Schools

Andrei Dacko, Valley Career and Technical Center

Diana Flick, Harrisonburg City Public Schools

Lisa Gibson, Shenandoah County Public Schools

Ryan Hall, Valley Makers Association

Jennifer LaBombard-Daniels, Shenandoah University

Massanutten Technical Center E-SOC

Blue Ridge Community College’s Technology Camps

Jeff Burner, Shenandoah County Public Schools

Clay Chandler, Shenandoah Valley Juvenile Center

Andrei Dacko, Valley Career and Technical Center

Angela Deitz, Augusta County Public Schools

Katie Horst, Stuart Hall School

Madison Lucas-Corbett, Alleghany County Public School

Heather Lupton, Warren County Public Schools

Brittany Miller, Winchester Public Schools Perry

Shank, Harrisonburg City Public Schools

Mary Heishman / Staunton City Public Schools

Eric Johnston / Page County Public Schools

Chris Martin / Shenandoah Valley Governor’s School

Christine Richmond / Shenandoah County Public Schools

Amy Sabarre / Harrisonburg City Public Schools

Brian Thomas / Frederick County Public Schools

Innovation in Higher Education AwardBlue Ridge Community College

Shenandoah University ESports


GO Virginia Cybersecurity Program

Autonomous Cart (JACart) Research Group

Shenandoah University

AR/VR Healthcare Simulation Course

GO Virginia Cyber Security Program, Blue Ridge Community College

Computer Science Program, Lord Fairfax Community College

E-Sports Program, Shenandoah University

JMU X-Labs

Lord Fairfax Community College / “We’re Open” Initiative

SU Center for Immersive Learning

Innovation in
Development Award
Augmented Reality Collaboration, withSimplicity & JMU X-Labs

FlatHat, LLC

Heifetz International Music Institute

Bryan Tool & Machining



BarTrack, Inc

Budget Referee

Chiedo Labs

HYDRA Systems

JMU Center for International Stabilization and Recovery (CISR)


Community Impact AwardGenerate Impact

Pale Fire Helps

Shenandoah Valley Partnership

Staunton Innovation Hub

Generate Impact

Horizons Edge Sports Campus

Valley Makers Association

Exploring Rockingham’s Past (a collaboration between Rockingham County Circuit Court and JMU History & JMU Libraries

United Way of Harrisonburg and Rockingham County

United Way Northern Shenandoah Valley – Valley Assistance Network

Curren Media Group

Explore More Discovery Museum

Shenandoah Valley Workforce Development Board, Inc.

People’s Choice AwardCaf2CodeMassanutten Technical Center E-SOCToni Sheets, Harrisonburg City Public Schools Christine Richmond / Shenandoah County Public Schools

Regional and State News

Virginia Technology Councils’ 2022 Policy Agenda

The Virginia Technology Councils’ 2022 Policy Agenda is a…

Delivery of the 2021 Tech Nite Award Pillars

Face to Face Networking at Our Annual Fall Tech Mixer: We Distributed…
Broadband Coverage - Fiber Closeup

SVTC Continues Shen. Valley Broadband Discussion in a Slack channel

In April 2021, SVTC luncheon attendees discussed the state of state and local Shen. Valley broadband. The conversation continues. How can broadband coverage be improved?
CSIIP logo

2020 – 2021 Internship Subsidy Opportunity – Commonwealth STEM Internship Program

Are you interested in a cybersecurity undergraduate intern for your business (virtual or onsite)? Has funding been a challenge? CSIIP can assist! The Commonwealth STEM Industry Internship Program (CSIIP) can assist with all areas of STEM internship placements...
Virginia's tech councils logos

Virginia Technology Councils’ 2021 Policy Agenda

In order for Virginia’s businesses to grow and thrive, they need well-trained and highly skilled employees. In the technology industry, Virginia continues to experience a shortage of trained workers.
business resources and growth graphic

Shenandoah Valley Business Resources

We all know that Shenandoah Valley businesses and potential startups have been affecting during this time. Below, you can find information about two programs that provide access to resources for both startup companies and growing businesses.
COVID-19 Recovery Graphic

Local and State COVID-19 Recovery Funding

We know how many business and non-profits have been affected…
Forward Frederick County Logo

League $500,000 Allocated for Second Round of Frederick County, Virginia COVID-19 Business/Non-Profit Grant Program

Round Two of the Frederick County, Virginia COVID-19 Business/Non-Profit Grant Program will open on Friday, October 23, at 8 am. Grants of $5,000, $7,500, or $10,000 will be awarded to Frederick County businesses and non-profits adversely affected by the pandemic.

Governor Northam Allocates $30 Million in CARES Act Funding to Fast-Track Broadband Projects

Governor Ralph Northam today announced that Virginia is allocating $30 million in funding from the federal Coronavirus Aid, Recovery, and Economic Security (CARES) Act to improve broadband access in underserved localities.